ACM Awards kick off with energy, jokes about Oscars mishap

ACM Awards kick off with energy, jokes about Oscars mishap

ACM Awards kick off with energy, jokes about Oscars mishap

ACM Awards kick off with energy, jokes about Oscars mishap

The Country Music Awards Academy began with six independent energy-packed performances, including a tribute to Chuck Berry with Joe Walsh, Luke Bryan and Dierks Bentley.

The trio performed “Johnny B. Goode” at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas as audience members left their seats on Sunday to sing and dance.

“For the man who influenced all forms of music, including the country,” said Bryan de Berry, who died last month.

Prior to that, the nominees for artist of the year – Bryan, Carrie Underwood, Jason Aldean, Keith Urban and Florida Georgia Line – began the show with performances from their recent successes.

Aldean won the award for best actor last year.

Later in the program, broadcasting live on CBS, Urban sang the soulful “Blue Is not Your Color” with a recoil, black and white vibe, while the back of the stage was smoky and shimmering blue. When he switched to “The Fighter,” disc-flavored disc, where he joined Underwood, the camera focused on his actress and wife Nicole Kidman, who sang and danced.

Miranda Lambert also had a top-notch performance: She won a standing ovation after she sang the slow and sonic “Tin Man” as the crowd watched along seriously as she hit all the right notes and strummed her guitar .

The night featured comedy, including a game out of the Academy Awards crash during the box’s best picture announcement in February.

“Is it strange, David?” Asked “Entertainment Tonight” host Nancy O’Dell while holding the card with the song name of the winner of the year.

“Emma Stone, ‘The Earth,'” David Copperfield announced as the audience laughed.

The real winner was Thomas Rhett for “Die a Happy Man”.

“Thank you to my beautiful wife, my beautiful pregnant wife,” said Rhett, whose wife was at the hearing. “The inspiration for the song was your fault.”

Bryan and Bentley, who are co-hosts of the show for the second year, also had jokes: they laughed at doing Las Vegas activities before the awards show, and even showed photos of them dressed as strippers-cowboys.

Bryan even joked days before the ACM Awards would unite Democrats and Republicans.

“Democrats and Republicans are going to take it on Sunday night. Everyone’s going to see the MCAs together and things are going to start happening in this country. It’s going to change,” Bryan said in an interview with The Associated Press Press. Cats and dogs will be distinguished.

“Come to a choice near you. Is politics your next career?” Bentley said.

“Yes,” Bryan said.

Sam Hunt made her first hit, “Body Like a Back Road,” and headed to the audience to sit next to her boyfriend to sing the song. The show is expected to include other A-list performances during the three-hour show, including the Backstreet Boys with Florida Georgia Line, Chris Stapleton, Faith Hill and Tim McGraw.

ACM Awards kick off with energy, jokes about Oscars mishap                                                    Previous winners announced prior to Sunday’s show included two wins for Florida Georgia Line: single-year record with “H.O.L.Y.” And the year’s vocal event for “May We All” with McGraw.

Urban, which was successful with its genre-bending, Grammy-nominated album “Ripcord”, is the nominee with seven. He will compete for the album of the year, song of the year with “Blue Is not Your Color” and Male Vocalist of the Year.

In this last category, he faces Aldean, Bentley, Stapleton and Rhett.

The nominees for the singer of the year are Kacey Musgraves, Kelsea Ballerini, Lambert, Underwood and Maren Morris, who recently won a Grammy for their hit song, “My Church.”

Other artists during the show include Reba McEntire, Rhett, Ballerini, Osborne Brothers, Cole Swindell and Jon Pardi. Among the presenters are Darius Rucker, Miss America Savvy Shields, Jake Owen, Kane Brown, Lauren Alaina and Kellie Pickler.

Lori McKenna, who won the best country song Grammy for two consecutive years writing “Humble and Kind” by McGraw and co-writing “Girl Crush” by Little Big Town, was named songwriter of the year.

Morris won the new vocalist of the year, Pardi was named new male vocalist, and the Osborne brothers collected both vocal duo of the year and new vocal duo or group of the year.

Little Big Town won the vocal group of the year, beating Lady Antebellum, who had just appeared on the show.

“I just want to be in Lady Antebellum’s band,” shouted Kimberly Schlapman.

“Me too,” shouted Karen Fairchild.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   ACM Award wallpapers                                                                                                                                           

Check Also

Big-Money PR War Over Seth Rich’s Death

Big-Money PR War Over Seth Rich’s Death                  …